Energy Salad – Sweet, Crunchy, Savoury Goodness!

Happy Monday! 

I’m feeling super eager to experiment with Raw foods after watching Food Matters, an awesome documentary that focuses on many different issues regarding healthy eating, raw foods, and nutritious diets. So, I decided to spend a few hours at Vancouver Raw food restaurant, Organic Lives. Possibly the best tasting food ever, if you like it raw or not. I swear, I feel instant energy jolts from the amount of amazingness happening in their meals. Love, love, love their sushi… Sprouted pecan sushi. Nom. Image

Once I arrived home I felt inspired to make my own Energy boosting meal. I fell in love with this salad a few months ago. A friend had put it together for a gathering and I couldn’t help myself from eating a second serving and then a third. He saw me go for that third round and kindly gifted the recipe. So here it is, from him, to me, to you.  Meet the energy salad: Sweet, crunchy, savoury goodness.

xo

Image

Energy Salad

  • Half head of cauliflower
  • 4 medium sized carrots
  • 1/4 head red cabbage
  • 1/4 head green cabbage
  • 2 heads of broccoli
  • 1 1/2 cups (raw or toasted) unsalted pumpkin seeds
  • 2/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 2/3 cup golden rasins

In a food processor carefully add small pieces of the broccoli – pulse into penny size pieces

Repeat with red cabbage, green cabbage, and cauliflower.

Grate carrots.

Add all ingredients together.

Energy Salad Dressing

  • 3 handfulls of fresh rosemary
  • 500ml sunflower/grape seed/vegetable oil
  • 500ml organic apple juice ( I juice my own)
  • 1/2-1 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2 cups of dried cranberries

Preheat over to 375

Toast rosemary leaves in oil until crispy

Pull rosemary leaves and put in the blender

Add apple cider vinegar, apple juice, cranberries and blend while adding oil to a desired consistency.

Leave a Reply

