Sunshine Granola

I have always had a weakness for oatmeal, it all started as a child… I was obsessed with Quaker Maple Oats, I loved those oats so much I wouldn’t even bother heating them up. I’d add a bit of water and my snack was ready to go.

I also have great memories of bell ringing in Quebec city and the excitement I had every morning when we arrived the french restaurant for breakfast. Every time I would order the oatmeal. I remember adding spoonful after spoonful of brown sugar, and honey until an adult would take the jars away from me knowing that I’d be bouncing off the walls!

As I got older, I started appreciating the crunch of nuts, and the sweet bitter flavour of dried cranberries. Becoming more aware of nutritional facts, I started paying more attention to the store bought granolas and was disgusted that the second ingredient after oats was sugar, not to mention all the other ingredients that I can’t even pronounce. This inspired me to search for a homemade version, taking into consideration that it had to be gluten free, sugar free, and vegan. This is THE BEST GRANOLA I have ever tasted. No two batches are ever the same so feel free to play with it by adding different nuts and fruits.

xo Kat

SUNSHINE GRANOLA

  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup pure organic maple syrup or agave syrup
  • 1 tbsp almond milk
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups quinoa flakes
  • 3/4 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup flax seeds
  • 1 cup chopped almonds
  • 1 tsp Himalayan pink salt
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup dried blueberries
  • 1/4 cup dried currents

Turn oven on at 300 degrees.

Combine syrup, milk, oil in bowl and set aside.

Mix remaining ingredients (except dried fruit).

Combine dry mix with wet mixture and stir well

Pour mixture into shallow baking trays (I usually need a few) lined with parchment paper.

Bake mixture for 10 minutes, remove and stir. Then bake for another 10-15 minutes until it turns a light golden.

Remove from oven and stir in dried fruit.

Cool and keep in an air tight container.

Leave a Reply

